top of page
Search
Writer's pictureramosrjonathan

How German Changed My Life - Written Sept. 2017



Upon entering high school, I had no idea which foreign language to study. When I was in eighth grade, a vice principal from College Park High came to visit my middle school to inform us on our upcoming courses for the next year. At the time, rumors about how terrible the Spanish department at the high school was got around to my peers and I. From this, I curiously decided to take German because of its singularity among high school students. I wanted to be different.


Choosing to enter the German program at my high school was possibly one of the best decisions I have ever made. There is only one Deutschlehrerin (German Teacher) at our school who balances and instructs all five levels of the program. Before my first day of German class, freshman year, I had ignorantly hesitated to do any personal research on the language or culture so I had no idea what I was getting into. The first time I consciously heard the language even being spoken was on that day by our German teacher. The class involved listening to songs, watching videos, interactive lecture, observing and engaging in conversations, and being introduced to several aspects of German culture. By the end of the year, I knew that I wouldn't be dropping the class once I met the foreign language credit requirement but I’d try my best to continue learning the language for the rest of my life.


Every other year, our Deutschlehrerin participates in the German American Partnership Program (GAPP) that is sponsored by the German Goethe Institut. Through the program, twenty German and twenty American students are able to engage in a partner exchange. I partook in this program during my sophomore year as a level two student in Deutschklasse. We had to go through an application process where we wrote essays explaining why we would be good candidates for the exchange. I learned the name of my partner, what he looked like, his email address, and foods that he likes and dislikes. After exchanging phone numbers, he and I were able to converse through Whatsapp. Meeting him, in March, for the first time was an experience like none other; I had no idea what good friends we’d become. During their time here, we tried to demonstrate everything about our culture to the best of our abilities. We showed him foods he had never seen or heard of before, brought him to San Francisco and even on a short trip to Los Angeles. In June, my classmates and I travelled to Germany for our three and a half weeks. Spending time in a different country really opened up my eyes to the opportunities abroad. Immersing myself in the language and culture was a very good learning experience that gave me more confidence with my German as well. Though communication with those who speak a different language is always difficult, understanding each other is rewarding beyond belief. The German language truly changed my life.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page